Bee-Bim Bop!

Author: Linda Sue Park

Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

ISBN: 9780547531953

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 32

View: 6444

A wonderful paperback picture book about the joys of family and food, from Newbery Award winning author Linda Sue Park. Bee-bim bop ("mix-mix rice") is a traditional Korean dish. In bouncy rhyming text, a hungry child tells of helping her mother make bee-bim bop: shopping, preparing ingredients, setting the table, and sitting down to enjoy a favorite meal. The enthusiasm of the narrartor is conveyed in the whimsical illustrations, which bring details from the artist’s childhood in Korea to his depiction of a modern Korean-American family. The book includes Linda Sue’s own bee-bim bop recipe!
Release

Xander's Panda Party

Author: Linda Sue Park

Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

ISBN: 054783442X

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 32

View: 5462

Xander planned a panda party. Yes, a dandy whoop-de-do! But Xander was the only panda. Just one panda at the zoo. The zoo’s paucity of pandas doesn’t impede Xander’s party planning for long. He decides to invite all the bears. But Koala protests. She’s not a bear—she's a marsupial! Does that mean she can’t come? Xander rethinks his decision to invite only bears, and “Calling all bears” evolves into “Calling all creatures.” The Newbery Medal author Linda Sue Park introduces animal taxonomy in a wonderfully engaging way, and the celebrated artist Matt Phelan’s charming ink and watercolor paintings are the icing on the cake. A read-aloud whoop-de-do!
Release

New Clothes for New Year's Day

Author: Hyun-Joo Bae

Publisher: Kane/Miller Book Publishers, Inc.

ISBN: 1933605294

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 32

View: 1631

A Korean girl is excited about the new year, especially because it means she can get dressed in her traditional New Year's Day clothes, which take a while and some effort to get into.
Release

The Firekeeper's Son

Author: Linda Sue Park

Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

ISBN: 9780547531502

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 40

View: 525

In Korea in the early 1800s, news from the countryside reached the king by means of signal fires. On one mountaintop after another, a fire was lit when all was well. If the king did not see a fire, that meant trouble, and he would send out his army. Linda Sue Park's first picture book for Clarion is about Sang-hee, son of the village firekeeper. When his father is unable to light the fire one night, young Sang-hee must take his place. Sang-hee knows how important it is for the fire to be lit-but he wishes that he could see soldiers . . . just once. Mountains, firelight and shadow, and Sunhee's struggle with a hard choice are rendered in radiant paintings, which tell their own story of a turning point in a child's life.
Release

Dumpling Soup

Author: Jama Kim Rattigan

Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

ISBN: 0316049816

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: N.A

View: 6801

Marisa gets to help make dumplings this year to celebrate the New Year. But she worries if anyone will eat her funny-looking dumplings. Set in the Hawaiian islands, this story celebrates the joyful mix of food, customs, and languages from many cultures.
Release

What Will You Be, Sara Mee?

Author: Kate Aver Avraham

Publisher: Charlesbridge Publishing

ISBN: 1580892108

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 32

View: 3388

At her Tol, the first birthday party, Sara Mee plays the traditional Korean prophecy game--Toljabee--while her extended family and friends watch.
Release

Looking for a Mr. Kim in Seoul

A Guide to Korean Expressions

Author: Sang-Hun Choe,Christopher Torchia

Publisher: Master Communications, Inc.

ISBN: 1932457038

Category: Korean language

Page: 256

View: 9409

Release

Halmoni and the Picnic

Author: Sook Nyul Choi,Karen Dugan

Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

ISBN: 9780395616260

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 31

View: 2228

A Korean American girl's third grade class helps her newly arrived grandmother feel more comfortable with her new life in the United States.
Release

The Girl with the Silver Eyes

Author: Willo Davis Roberts

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1534421327

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 192

View: 1533

Katie Welker is used to being alone. She would rather read a book than deal with other people. Other people don’t have silver eyes. Other people can’t make things happen just by thinking about them! But these special powers make Katie unusual, and it’s hard to make friends when you’re unusual. Katie knows that she’s different but she’s never done anything to hurt anyone so why is everyone afraid of her? Maybe there are other kids out there who have the same silver eyes . . . and the same talents . . . and maybe they’ll be willing to help her.
Release

Dear Juno

Author: Soyung Pak

Publisher: Paw Prints

ISBN: 9781442009592

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 3298

Although Juno, a Korean-American boy, cannot read the letter he receives from his grandmother in Seoul, he understands what it means from the photograph and dried flower that are enclosed and decides to send back to her a similar letter. Ezra Jack Keats Book Award Winner. Reprint.
Release

Where's Halmoni?

Author: Julie Kim

Publisher: Sasquatch Books

ISBN: 1632170779

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 96

View: 7077

Searching for their missing grandmother, two Korean children follow tracks into a fantastic world filled with beings from folklore who speak in Korean. Includes translations and information about the folkloric characters.
Release

The Little House

Author: Virginia Lee Burton

Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

ISBN: 9780395181560

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 40

View: 1572

A country house is unhappy when the city, with all its buildings and traffic, grows up around her.
Release

What Does Bunny See?

A Book of Colors and Flowers

Author: Linda Sue Park

Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

ISBN: 9780547563046

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 32

View: 6377

A rabbit explores a garden, finding flowers of every color, before hopping home for a nap and dreams of rainbows. Rhyming clues invite the reader to answer the question: What does bunny see? Linda Sue Park’s sprightly verses and Maggie Smith’s cheerful illustrations will delight young children, as each turn of the page yields a colorful surprise.
Release

Project Mulberry

Author: Linda Sue Park

Publisher: Yearling Books

ISBN: 0440421632

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 225

View: 2954

While working on a project for an after-school club, Julia Song, a Korean-American girl, and her friend Patrick learn not just about silkworms, but also about tolerance, prejudice, friendship, patience, and more. Reprint.
Release

Read! Perform! Learn! 2

10 Reader's Theater Programs for Literacy Enhancement

Author: Toni Buzzeo

Publisher: Upstart Books

ISBN: N.A

Category: Education

Page: 152

View: 9405

A companion book to Read! Perform! Learn!, a resource for school media specialist, public children's librarians, and classroom teachers who want to share excellent children's literature with their students while improving reading skills. Includes a set of standards-based learning activities with accompanying standards.
Release

Extreme Scientists

Exploring Nature's Mysteries from Perilous Places

Author: Donna M. Jackson

Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

ISBN: 9780618777068

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 63

View: 9179

Extreme scientists battle some of the Earth's most intense conditions, from hurricanes to caves to the crowns of towering redwoods, in order to save lives, preserve species, and help us to better understand the way our planet works. Full color.
Release

When Mischief Came to Town

Author: Katrina Nannestad

Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

ISBN: 0544633768

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 208

View: 5136

In the tradition of ANNE OF GREEN GABLES and PIPPI LONGSTOCKING comes a heart-warming novel about love, family, grief, joy and the power of laughter and imagination. When Inge Maria arrives on the tiny island of Bornholm in Denmark to live with her grandmother, she's not sure what to expect. Her grandmother is stern, the people on the island are strange, and children are supposed to be seen and not heard. But no matter how hard Inge tries to be good, mischief has a way of finding her. Could it be that a bit of mischief is exactly what Grandmother and the people of Bornholm need?
Release

Red Are the Apples

Author: Marc Harshman,Cheryl Ryan,Wade Zahares

Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

ISBN: 9780152060657

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 32

View: 5217

Leads the reader through a bountiful vegetable garden in autumn while drawing particular attention to the variety of colors found within it.
Release

Dim Sum for Everyone!

Author: Grace Lin

Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers

ISBN: 0385754884

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 22

View: 615

A child describes the various little dishes of dim sum that she and her family enjoy on a visit to a restaurant in Chinatown, in a story that includes a simple explanation and history of Chinese dim sum at the end. By the creator of Ugly Vegetables.
Release

Twelve Kinds of Ice

Author: Ellen Bryan Obed

Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

ISBN: 0547529325

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 64

View: 5596

“This is a joyful, spirited gem of a book, as bracing and glorious as a perfect stretch of ice.” –Newbery Honor author Joyce Sidman With the first ice—a skim on a sheep pail so thin it breaks when touched—one family’s winter begins in earnest. Next comes ice like panes of glass. And eventually, skating ice! Take a literary skate over field ice and streambed, through sleeping orchards and beyond. The first ice, the second ice, the third ice . . . perfect ice . . . the last ice . . . Twelve kinds of ice are carved into twenty nostalgic vignettes, illustrated in elegantly scratched detail by the award-winning Barbara McClintock.
Release